For the LORD is with you.

Scripture:
That night the Lord appeared to him and said, “I am the God of your father Abraham. Do not be afraid, for I am with you; I will bless you and will increase the number of your descendants for the sake of my servant Abraham.” – Genesis 26:24-25

Observation:
Isaac had lived among the Philistines for a good while but moved away from them when he became too strong and powerful them according to Abimelech. While he lived in the Valley of Gerar, he dug many wells. Each well he dug the Philistines plugged up out of envy of his wealth and success given to him by God. He finally found a region where they no longer contested his presence, and he received a visit from God one night, who told him not to fear because he was with him and would bless him according to the promise made to Abraham.

Application:
We have no reason to fear anything in this life because the LORD is with us. In much the same way he spoke to Abraham, Isaac, Jacob, Joseph, Moses, Joshua, and others of the past he still speaks to us. He told each them not to fear because he was with them. He tells us the same today. As he told Moses that he’d never leave or abandon Israel, he still tells us the same today. Likewise, Paul came along later and said that if God is for us, who can be against us? So really, who or what do we have to fear? If we put our complete faith and trust in the LORD, what is there that can truly harm us – death? sickness? injury? people? Remember where Paul said elsewhere that to be absent from the body is to be with Jesus! All people can do is threaten you with a good time. If you live on earth now, you will have issues but not eternal ones. If you leave this earth, you gain eternity with the LORD! Either way, God won’t leave you or abandon you. Trust him!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for standing by your word and fulfilling your promises, especially the one of never leaving or abandoning us. You are our everything. I can truly appreciate and understand the song of David when we penned the words that you are my shepherd, and I will not want for anything! In you I have all that I could ever need or want. Outside of you, what is there for me? Sure the pleasures of life grant a temporal enjoyment, but many of them would rob me of my life with you. I would rather be like Moses and forsake the pleasures of Egypt to be among the people of God. I ask that your will be done in my life, and yours alone. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

