Don’t be a royal pain.

Scripture:
Esau then realized how displeasing the Canaanite women were to his father Isaac; so he went to Ishmael and married Mahalath, the sister of Nebaioth and daughter of Ishmael son of Abraham, in addition to the wives he already had. – Genesis 37:8-9

Observation:
Esau sold his birthright to Jacob for a bowl of soup and was robbed of his first-born blessing by his brother’s treachery and deceit. He saw the blessing upon his brother from their father, and he heard their father tell Jacob to marry a woman from their family line instead of the local Canaanite women, who were pagans. When Esau heard this and how it bothered his parents, he went to his uncle and married one of his daughters and royally ticked off his parents out of spite.

Application:
As a child I used to do things just to tick people off because I knew I could. These actions were necessarily evil, but they did aggravate those whom I wanted to annoy. This is not the way to make friends and influence people; trust me. I ended up more times than not causing myself more grief than the joy derived from the pleasure of being a rogue and scoundrel. Thus, I speak from my experiences and hopefully will share the love and truth found here in God’s word. Esau may have thought that he was merely irritating his folks when in fact he helped seal his destiny as the one whom God rejected. For we know that God told his mother, “Jacob I have loved, but Esau I have hated.” Learn to be at peace with all people, and do your best to love everyone. Why? For in this one command hang all the law and the prophets….love your neighbor as yourself. Fulfill the royal law of love and don’t be a royal pain in the rear.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for showing me the reality of walking in love and not being a person whom people want to avoid because of chicanery. I used to be the town fool because I annoyed and pestered most people around me. I was devoid of close friends for the better part of my childhood and young adult years. Now that I am older and have lived life to a good point, I begin to understand the desire and need to be surrounded by those that love you. Isolation that is self-inflicted is a double whammy because it is self-inflicted and totally avoidable. Please teach me how to let the peace of Messiah rule in my heart that I may a humble person full of love and joy. Your will be done alone and no other. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

