Don’t be afraid, for God is with you.

Scripture:
 “I am God, the God of your father,” he said. “Do not be afraid to go down to Egypt, for I will make you into a great nation there. I will go down to Egypt with you, and I will surely bring you back again. And Joseph’s own hand will close your eyes.” – Genesis 46:3-4

Observation:
Jacob received word that Pharaoh had provided transportation for he and his family to make the move to Egypt and live there. He knew that his son was the prime minister and arranged these things. As Jake and his family prepared to travel, the LORD spoke to him in a vision and said for him not to be afraid to go to Egypt. God was going with Jake and make his descendants into a great nation. Jake must have questioned in his heart that God’s promise of his heirs living in Canaan might not happen if he moved to Egypt. God assured them that they would.

Application:
Today’s lesson is a simple one. If God says it will happen, it will. We don’t have to fear what is going to occur in our lives if we truly learn to trust solely in God’s provision. There really is nothing too difficult for our God, YHWH, for he created the universe. Is there really nothing that he cannot do in the world he formed and spoke into existence?!? Then why do we doubt and worry about whether things God spoke to us will happen! Let’s put aside our fears and worries and trust in the living God to keep his promises. Remember that obedience brings the blessing. Obedience brings favor. It’s not that we do anything special or great to earn these things; however, adherence to God’s word will see that we have all that we need. For did not Jesus say that we are to seek first God’s kingdom and righteous AND THEN all the necessities of life would be given to us? He did!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for settling my concerns and questions about what you are doing in my life. I’ve not been the most obedient and trusting son during my years. Jake lived 147 years and did what you told him, and you went with him wherever you led. He trusted you and followed your lead. Will you teach me how to love you and trust you to that level and greater, even to the level that Jesus did! I want only what you want for me. Please remove all obstacles that would try to hinder my mission. I trust you. May your will be done. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

