Good soil or seed among the thorns?

Scripture:
The seed falling among the thorns refers to someone who hears the word, but the worries of this life and the deceitfulness of wealth choke the word, making it unfruitful. – Matthew 13:22

Observation:
A large crowd gathered to hear Jesus speak, but the sheer number forced him to get in a boat and speak from it a short ways offshore. In the message he taught that there are four types of soil: none, among the rocks, among the thorns, and good soil. Of the thorny soil he stated that the word of God takes hold but soon gives place to the cares and wealth of this world. These two factors become such a distraction that the soil cannot produce good fruit and is therefore useless.

Application:
Isn’t it amazing how the Spirit has shown in the last three passages that we need to check ourselves and ensure we are where we should be. Jesus didn’t say that the thorny soil didn’t produce fruit. He did say that eventually the cares of this life and the wealth of the world choked out the life of the soil and eventually rendered it fit nor nothing. Many a “good” Christian, or so-called Christian, has started out receiving the word of God and had it produce fruit in a person; however, that person eventually succumbed to the deception of the world’s offers. The end result was the person fell away from the faith and no longer produced fruit worthy of the kingdom. In fact they did not produce good fruit. Jesus said of such trees that they are to be cut down and cast into the fire. What fire did he speak? Hell, of course. So much for once saved, always saved…..things that make you go hmm. Again I say check yourself. What kind of soil are you? Is the seed producing fruit in you and through you? Is it good fruit or bad fruit? Talk to God the Holy Spirit, and let him show you what, if any, changes need to be made in your life, and in mine for me.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for showing me that I am not perfect and that I am always in need of a Savior. Thank you for showing me that life is fragile and like a vapor, here today and gone tomorrow. Help me to till the ground of my heart and spirit, for I want nothing but good fruit to be produced in me. I know in your word that a good tree cannot bear bad fruit nor a bad tree make good fruit, but I’ve seen good trees go bad in this life for whatever reason. Help me to stay connected to the vine because I am but a branch and cannot produce anything outside of the vine – Jesus! Your will be done. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

