Choosing the eunuch lifestyle.

Scripture:
…there are those who choose to live like eunuchs for the sake of the kingdom of heaven. The one who can accept this should accept it. – Matthew 19:12c

Observation:
Some of the religious elite had come to test Jesus on the matter of divorce. They wanted to know if a man could divorce his wife for any and every reason. Jesus told them that the divine plan was for one man to be married to one woman, and that anyone who divorces and marries another except for the cause of infidelity commits adultery. The disciples then realized that it would be better not to marry at all, but Jesus replied interestingly to their comment. He said that some are born sterile, others are made that way, and some choose to live that way for the sake of the kingdom.

Application:
I am a man who has married and divorced three times. The first two were over infidelity of my former spouses, so I felt vindicated when I left. The last one was not. I had no biblical reasoning for the divorce; it was more a matter of pride and selfishness. However, it has been discussed at length between my last spouse and I regarding reconciliation. We realized that doing so was not in the best interest of the kingdom of God because we should have never married in the first place. Given such, I’ve elected to do as Jesus said – to be one who chooses to be a eunuch for the kingdom. Why? Because I love my Savior and LORD more than any woman or even the idea of having a woman in my life. I would rather forego the temporary pleasures and pains of marriage (for there will be trouble in this life for the married) than to disobey the will of my Father. Sure, I’ve had moments where I’d entertained the idea of remarriage to another and even dated, but I always regretted those choices and came back to the point of remaining faithful to my LORD first and foremost! I’m not proud of my past choices, but I am glad to serve my LORD and see his will be done.

Prayer:
Father, thank you for loving me more than any person could or would and for being there when people abandoned me and sought others. I trust in you and know that there is no other in this world for me. You have been there since my conception and will be there when my last breath expires or am translated into your presence. You are true to your word of never leaving or abandoning your children. I want to see your kingdom built and expanded in this world so long as there is light in my eyes and breath in my body. Your will be done, in Jesus’ name, Amen.

