Are you a true disciple of Jesus?

Scripture:
Not everyone who says to me, ‘Lord, Lord,’ will enter the kingdom of heaven, but only the one who does the will of my Father who is in heaven. – Matthew 7:21

Observation:
Near the end of the Olivet discourse, Jesus taught his disciples the definition of a true disciple of Jesus. He simply said that a true disciple of his is a person who does the will of [his] Father who is in heaven.

Application:
Our topic for today beckons that we take a moment and test ourselves and see if we are truly of the household of faith, as Paul said to do. Jesus notes that many will come to him and address him as Lord, Lord but will not be his disciples. Why? Because they did things in the name of Jesus they wanted and chose to do rather than what the Spirit of the Living God, YHWH, told them to do. We must be careful that the mission we complete and fulfill is the mission that God the Father put us on and not one we chose for ourselves. Again, why? Because those that do what they want will be met with the phrase, I never knew you. Away from me, you evildoers! instead of hearingWell done good and faithful servant!

Prayer:
Father, thank you for making this point even clearer to me today. Long have I read these words and thought I understood them, but your Spirit pointed out to me that I had best test myself. Much of what I’ve done in your name, has it been what you’ve assigned me to do or things I felt led to do? This is dangerous and precarious ground to tread. Forgive me for doing things, yes – even marvelous things, in your name that were not on my duty roster to do. Help me to be more sensitive to the leading and calling of your Holy Spirit, as he guides to me do what you want me to do rather than what I think or feel you want me to do.  May your name be praised. Your will be done in Jesus’ name, Amen.

