Identified as a servant of the LORD.

Scripture:
then his master must take him before the judges. He shall take him to the door or the doorpost and pierce his ear with an awl. Then he will be his servant for life. – Exodus 21:6

Observation:
The LORD gave Moses a long laundry list of dos and don’ts for the Hebrews to live by. One of particular note was the process of a single man indentured to another person but married and/or had children. He could serve for 6 years but had to be set free on year 7. His wife and children, though, would remain with the master. The man had the opportunity to stay with his family in continued service to their master, but he had to be publicly identified as the master’s servant via a pierced ear with earring. The service became lifelong.

Application:
Are we identified with our Master as his servants? Have you allowed yourself to be taken to the doorpost of heaven and your spiritual pierced? Do you even want to be identified as a lifelong, nay eternal, servant of the Most High God? When we establish our personal relationship with God the Father, YHWH, we are pierced with the two-edged sword of the Spirit, the Word, and made children-servants of our Father. Our piercing doesn’t happen in us but did in the hands and feet and side of our LORD and Savior, Jesus! He was bruised for our transgressions and wounded for our iniquities. The chastisement of our peace was upon him. Thus, we should want to be publicly identified as eternal servants of the Most High God! Remember, too, that Jesus said that those who publicly deny him will be denied before his Father and the angels of heaven. I willingly lean my spiritual against the doorpost of heaven, so my Father can mark me as his own forever!

Prayer:
Father, thanks for loving me enough to want to publicly identify me as your own. Unlike the servant who had the choice to stay or leave, I don’t really have that choice. I do, but it has a dire consequence. To leave you means to die spiritually forever. I love you and want to abide in you and you in me for eternity! Thanks for giving me the opportunity to show my love for you by sharing my witness and being your witness to the world around me. Just as Jesus publicly died on the cross, so too, allow me to die publicly to sin and the trappings of this world. May that testimony positively influence people to want to come to know you as Father like I do. Your will be done, in Jesus’ name, Amen.

