What it’s like to hear and obey the Word of God!

Scripture:
 I will show you what it’s like when someone comes to me, listens to my teaching, and then follows it. It is like a person building a house who digs deep and lays the foundation on solid rock. When the floodwaters rise and break against that house, it stands firm because it is well-built. – Luke 6:47-48

Observation:
During the Olivet discourse, Jesus spoke to the disciples and explained to them what it looks like when someone hears and obeys the Word of God. He says that it is like a house built on a deep, strong foundation that can withstand the storms of nature. His anecdote tells us what safety and security there is in hearing and obeying the Word of God.

Application:
In the line before this short passage, Jesus asks the apostles the question, Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord’ when you don’t do what I say?  That is a harsh question coming from the Master to his followers! Nevertheless, it’s still applicable to anyone today. Why do we call Jesus, Lord, Lord, but don’t do what he says? Elsewhere Jesus told us that a true disciple of his does what is the will of his Father, our Father too if we are in relationship with him. Paul writes in one epistle that we are to be doers of the Word of God not just hearers. James writes in his epistle that faith without works is dead. All of these passages point back to the statement Jesus made…Why do you call me ‘Lord, Lord’ but don’t do what I say? 

The great news is that when we do hear and obey the Word of God, there is peace and security and strength from the Father. Jesus reminds us that a strong foundation shores up the structure and prevents its demise and destruction like a house built on sand or a shaky base. The storms represent the trials and tests of life we face. The strong foundation is none other than Jesus himself, the Word of God. When we read and hear the truth of the good news and put it into practice, we see the fruitful results in our lives, the fruit of the Holy Spirit: Love, Joy, Peace, Patience, Gentleness, Goodness, Humility, Faithfulness, and Self-control. Who doesn’t want these things in one’s life? We all do!

Therefore, let us learn to heed the Word of God and do what he tells us to do. If you struggle with hearing from God’s still, small voice, then I encourage you to open the written voice of God, the Word of God, and allow God the Holy Spirit to speak to you through what the Father has already spoken in the past. Because his truths are universal and eternal, what he said in yesteryear still applies today! I guarantee that you will hear God speak to you through the written Word of God if you will but read it. However, don’t stop there! You must then take what you’ve heard and put it into action, for what good is something if never used?

Prayer:
Father, blessed is your holy and revered name above all others. You are the supreme being of the universe above all others. There is none like you! Thank you for this day and giving me what I needed to pass through it. You showed me what needed to be done today and gave me the power to accomplish the day’s work. Thank you for giving me your written and spoken Word, nay your living Word in Jesus! I pray that your will be done in and through me just like your will is done in heaven by the angels. Please spare me from evil and lead me into all truth and righteousness by God the Holy Spirit, my teacher, helper, and friend. Now that I know what you want and require of me, please help me to carry it out on a daily basis for the benefit of others and my betterment. It is all for your glory! In Jesus’ name, Amen.

