His will be done!

Scripture:
Father, if you are willing, please take this cup of suffering away from me. Yet I want your will to be done, not mine. – Luke 22:42

Observation:
The hour of Jesus’ execution had come. He and the apostles went to the Mount of Olives to pray before Judas came with the mob to arrest Jesus. While they prayed, Jesus said to the Father that he desired for the “cup” he was to bear to pass. However, Jesus also prayed that the Father’s will would be done and not his. He showed his full humanity in the moment because his flesh didn’t want to die. He knew he had to proceed with the sacrifice if the relationship between God and man was ever to be restored. Thus, he said that God’s will, not his, be done.

Application:
How many of us are willing to admit that we would rather do what we want rather than what God the Father, Jehovah, wants? I have; I don’t know about you. I would venture to say that all humans have done so at some point in their lives. Nevertheless, I am ever grateful that the Master subdued his human desire in favor of our Father’s will. Do you not realize that had Jesus not died on the cross that we’d all be stuck in sin and facing damnation? For the Scriptures clearly state that the blood of bulls and goats can never take away the sins of man, but there is no remission of sins without the shedding of blood! Thus, Jesus had to die the death of the Pesach Lamb to restore our relationship with God. There was no other way.

When we find ourselves facing a difficult situation, let us learn to employ the mindset of Christ, which we are all supposed to have according to Paul, and surrender to and submit to the will of the Father. His thoughts are higher than ours and his ways are not ours and he is able to do more than we could ever think or imagine! He knows best for us and his kingdom! Therefore, let us pray the same prayer as Jesus, Nevertheless, I want your will to be done, not mine.

Prayer:
Father, your are the supreme Being of the universe, whose glory and power far exceeds that of anyone else! I thank you that in your omnipotence you choose to love a person as me. I am no longer the sinner I used to be because of your Son’s righteousness, which you have now accredited to all who are your children or will be in the future. Without the sacrifice of your Son and the grace that followed, I would be doomed to an eternity in a demon’s hell in perpetual torment with no way of escape. How horrid a thought! I cannot nor want to even imagine such a fate! I’ve yielded myself to you and pray that you forgive me of the wrongs I’ve done this day. Thank you for giving me the grace and strength to make it through this day to read your word and glean from it the truth you want applied to me. Whether anyone else benefits from this entry in this devotion is of no consequence. Praise to you if it does though! However, I do as Jesus did and say, “Not my will but your will be done.” I make that my honest, solemn prayer daily. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

