Have you forsaken all for the Kingdom of YaHWeH?

Scripture:
…no one who has left home or wife or brothers or sisters or parents or children for the sake of the kingdom of God will fail to receive many times as much in this age, and in the age to come eternal life. – Luke 18:29-30

Observation:
Yeshua spoke with the apostles on many topics, but one day, a young man approached him and asked what he had to do to be saved. The Lord recounted some of the Law with which the young concurred that he’d observed since his youth. However, Yeshua struck a nerve with him and told him to give up all his wealth, give to the poor, and then come follow Yeshua. The man walked away sorrowfully because he had much wealth. Then Yeshua turned to his apostles and told them that the rich have a hard time entering into eternity because they love their wealth more than YaHWeH. In response, the apostles asked how anyone could then be saved? Yeshua answered that with God what is impossible for man is possible with Him. Pete then spoke up and said that they’d left everything to follow Yeshua, who replied with the statement above.

Application:
It’s never easy leaving home for any reason: education, occupation, or even salvation. Home has memories of comfort and acceptance while being out in the world can evoke thoughts, feelings, and experiences of cruelty and rejection. For these latter reasons, many, who are called to go into the world to do the work of the Master, are reluctant and often rebel against the work YaHWeH assigned them. One has to trust G-d in faith not just for salvation but for provision, protection, and prudence. These things don’t come naturally to us.

There have been times that I’ve left home for occupation and found myself alone and seeking answers and comfort in places, people, and possessions rather than seeking these in YaHWeH. It only led to heartache and disappointment. Now that I’m in my late 40s, I’m beginning to more readily understand the work G-d has given me. I’m learning still to rely upon his grace, which is sufficient for me to do what he’s given me, and it’s never easy. The Master stated that the narrow path is difficult. Traversing it requires keeping one’s eyes focused upon him to keep from falling off and down into the abyss. Peter walked on top of the tempest but allowed his fears to grip him and sink into the waves rather than reach the Master.

What are we doing with our lives? Are we just living day-to-day and going through the motions? Or, are we humbling ourselves under His hand and performing the duties he’s given us? Has Yeshua called you to step out of your comfort zone and follow him out onto the waves of life’s storms? Has he asked you to do what he knows you can do for the kingdom of heaven? Do you balk at the idea or embrace it? Do you do what the Master commands or rebel and do your thing? These are a lot of questions, but we all must answer them and come to terms with the consequences of our decisions. Yeshua noted that those who love him and are his true disciples do the will of his Father, YaHWeh. How much do you really love the L-rd with all of your heart, soul, mind, and strength? Hmm….

Prayer:
Father, first and foremost, thank you for being you and loving me like you do. Even when I’ve done the tasks set before me, I’m reminded to say that I’m an unworthy servant who has done his duties. I endeavor to humble myself under your mighty hand and do all that you’ve assigned me. Help me to be diligent in fulfilling my duties, for without your grace, that’s an impossible task. Your Spirit, the Ruach HaKodesh, empowers me with your grace to succeed even in the face of adversity. Help me to stand strong and face the enemy. I’ve left all that I’ve ever had to do what you desire. I’ve not been perfect in executing the mission, but I strive to do so. With you leading the way, I know I can finish the race and complete the course. Lead on, and I’ll follow. I love you! May your will alone be done! In the name of Yeshua, Amen.

