Do you take your work for Jehovah’s kingdom seriously???

Scripture:
And Solomon, my son, learn to know the God of your ancestors intimately. Worship and serve him with your whole heart and a willing mind. For the Lord sees every heart and knows every plan and thought. If you seek him, you will find him. But if you forsake him, he will reject you forever. So take this seriously. The Lord has chosen you to build a Temple as his sanctuary. Be strong, and do the work. – 1 Chronicles 28:9-10

Observation:
David neared the end of his life. He assembled all Israel before The LORD and him to present Israel with his successor, Solomon. As he recounted the days of his service to The LORD and Israel, David informed Solomon of the necessity to worship and serve Jehovah with all that he was and to do so with all sincerity, and to take the work of leading The LORD’s people seriously. Finally, he told his son to be strong and to do the work for which Adonai had chosen him.

Application:
Among all the advice and instruction David gave to Solomon in that discourse, the part that leapt off the page at me today and knocked on top of my head was the command, So take this seriously. These words remind me to re-evaluate the purpose of my being and the purpose of my mission. What am I here on the earth to do during my short stay? Am I doing what The LORD chose me to do? Am I serious about completing the mission, or is this a game to me?

These may seem like trite and trivial questions to some, but to me, they strike at the very heart of who I am, what I am, and what I am doing (supposed to be doing) in this life. The LORD called all humanity to repentance and salvation, but not all respond. Of those wooed by his Spirit, many heed the call and come to salvation, but they resist his Lordship! Of those that heed the call and submit to The LORD, they are the ones he can use to work in his kingdom and fulfill the promises he spoke through the ancient prophets and apostles. Those in the latter group are the ones who take their work and relationship with The LORD seriously, remain strong by grace from Jesus, are equipped by the Holy Spirit, and DO THE WORK to which they were called.

I am at a junction in life where taking inventory of me and the path I am on is required. 48 years have passed for me on this earth as of this year, and many of the tasks set before me remain unfinished. Today, The LORD speaks to me directly from his written word via illumination from his Spirit and informs me it is high time to re-evaluate my sincerity in total pursuit of Him, his kingdom, and his righteousness. This life is not you or me, but it is about HIM! I do worship The LORD, but am I doing so with wholeheartedly and with a willing mind? Thus, I am beginning to seek him anew in order to find him more deeply and more intimately.

As Solomon was chosen to build the Temple, I was chosen as a watchman on the wall to proclaim and declare the TRUTH of Holy Scripture in order that the lost may come to Messiah and be found! I was chosen to proclaim and declare to the saved the TRUTH of Holy Scripture that will equip them to do every good work for the kingdom’s and gospel’s sake!

What are you called to do? Are you doing it? Are you doing it with all that is in you? Do you take it seriously? Join me in seeking the Father and his grace that we may finish the race set before us! Upward and onward!

Prayer:
Father, LORD of heaven most high, you are to be praised and worshipped above all! Your name is great in the earth as it is in the heavens! I bow before you in humility and admit that I have not done all that you have asked of me. I have at times not taking the mission seriously as I should have. There has been much slack at time with periods of “activity” mixed therein, yet the mission remains unfinished. I know that the entire mission will not be completed until Messiah returns and stands on Mt. Olivet and assumes his rightful place atop the throne of David in Zion! Until that time, though, I have worked to which you assigned me that must be done. Equip me, strengthen me, and guide me to the finish. I will take my mission seriously and do the work with all due diligence! Your will is to be done, not mine, and to that point I submit myself to you and your Lordship! Forgive me and correct me as needed. Teach me and guide me. In Jesus’ name, Amen.

